top of page

Ab-Soul Drops Heartfelt Fifth Studio Album ‘Herbert’

Ab-Soul has released his long-awaited fifth album Herbert, which features Joey Bada$$, Jhené Aiko, Big Sean, Russ, Ambré and more.

Ab-Soul is back and brighter than ever. On Friday (December 16), the Carson, California native released his fifth LP, Herbert, which features singles “Do Better,” “Gang’Nem” along with the previously-released “Hollandaise” and “Moonshooter.” Appearing on the album are longtime collaborators Jhené Aiko, Lance Skiiiwalker and SiR along with Ambré, Fre$h, Big Sean, Russ, ALEMEDA and Top Dawg Entertainment president Punch. and others. On production are DJ Premier, Sounwave, James Blake, Hit-Boy, Boi-1da, DJ Dahi and more.

Also on Friday, a video for Ab-Soul’s new single “FOMF” was released, showing the rapper running a chaotic baseball tournament.

“I never really stopped,” Stevens said, referencing the release of his last album in 2016.

“Took a little break after my last album ’cause I just felt like it was needed to kind of reset. [Do What Thou Wilt] was pretty dark and I wanted to return brighter, to say the least.”

In the recent interview, the artist also discussed his favorite rap labels and the formation of Black Hippy’s name, the legendary TDE group that features Kendrick Lamar, ScHoolboy Q and Jay Rock.

“My brothers, man. It was a genius way for us to bring all of our audiences in one room,”

Stevens also shared that it was ScHoolboy Q – not him – that came up with Black Hippy’s name.

Listen to Herbert below:

25 views0 comments


bottom of page